Good Friday


I always wondered why Good Friday is considered good. I guess it’s about the foreshadowing. The day, in and of itself, was filled with the brutal scourging and crucifixion of the person who has the greatest claim to the “it wasn’t me” defense. Knowing that there are no happenstances with God, I have often wondered how my being born on this day, relates to these events (I’ll give a high-five to the person – who doesn’t know me – who can figure out which year it was). I never get very far pondering this question. I’m usually too wrapped up in celebrating the day that I told the world, “Hello!” As I think about this today, the thing that comes to mind is how I view my life as overcoming an enduring some difficult events in order that the glory of God might be revealed in me. My life verse is Romans 8:28, for instance. Knowing, as I do, that “ALL things work together for the good of those who are the called…”, my focus tends to gravitate toward negative circumstances. I think about those are the things that, because of Christ, I am “more than a conqueror” of. Thinking further, what enables me to say this with confidence is the Love of God. What’s the relation? How are these two things correlated? If my view of God is that of an all-powerful being whose desire is to smite me the moment I step out of line with the laws he established, enduring difficulty can only be seen as harsh and cruel. If, however, I understand that the reason God allows me to go through experiences that can really only be described as painful, is because it gives him the opportunity to show me comfort; then I can truly experience his love. How can you really know what provision is without experiencing lack? What’s more, when the walls are crashing down around me, and I am rescued in a way I could not possibly have imagined, He gets the glory. Rather than to identify some circumstance which is of my own doing on these occasions, I can only point to the hills and know where my help comes from. To the degree that I an depending on the things which I have done, is the degree to which I am apt to fail to recognize the potter’s hand in shaping me into the vessel He created me to be. At the end of the day, I must recognize that I’m not here merely for myself. I didn’t imagine and create God in my own imagination. He created me, for himself, that I might show forth his glory. Thus, my life is to do just that. Through good and bad. The trials and tribulations are part of the way he makes it known that the ability to truly live an abundant life is not the product of human hands. It is the working of the master through Jesus Christ and him crucified. My part is only to believe in the death and burial, but more gloriously the resurrection. Although this day commemorates those awful events, it also points to the reason for the hope of all mankind. Today, I am thankful to God that Good Friday was not the end of the story, and I know that my savior lives.

About lboogieiowa

I am a college student, follower of Christ, lover of *good* music, part-time writer, oldest (or only, depending on who you ask) son, Atlanta sports FANatic....
This entry was posted in Christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

