Happy New Year!!!


To answer your first question, No. I’m not planning on blogging daily. It’s just been a few days filled with the inspiration to write. As this year comes to a close I just wanted to reflect on the experiences of the one that’s nearly done.

The growth of emotional maturity I’ve experienced in the past year has been tremendous. I’ve been shaken to the core and completely removed from my comfort zone. I’ve bid farewell (on this side of eternity) to one of my closest friends — R.I.P. D.J. I’ve been fired from a job for the first time in my life. I’ve plunged full bore into completing a post-secondary degree. I’ve learned to appreciate the fleeting nature of life on a number of fronts. Yet, through all these adventures I feel I’m more prepared for what’s ahead. I know no more than the next person as to what challenges I will face in the days, weeks, and months ahead. The thing is, I can’t help but sense that the past year’s journey has come not merely to shake me and awaken me from a sort of slumber, but to prepare me for what lies ahead. In years past, my reflection at New Year’s always centered on the things I didn’t do in the year just past. This year, with an appreciation for what the year gone by has brought me, I’m more forward-focused. Mid-lie crisis? I dunno, but I’m sure I have a different perspective and possibly even a new definition of what’s really important in life, to me. I’ve been able to (and had time to) think a lot more about what I really want to do with my life.

So as look forward to what lies ahead, giving thanks for those things that are now in the rear-view mirror, I want to wish you all a Happy (blessed, prosperous, enjoyable) New Year!!!

I know this one may be played, but it’s tried and true. 😉

About lboogieiowa

I am a college student, follower of Christ, lover of *good* music, part-time writer, oldest (or only, depending on who you ask) son, Atlanta sports FANatic....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

