Be you AND don’t settle


I had an INTENSE conversation with my brother last week. We were arguing about discussing a situation when he said something that struck me. “I’m not you.” It kinda stopped me dead in my tracks.

I have a very even-keeled temperament (most of the time). This is part of my makeup as well as my reaction and response to life’s challenges. Over the years I’ve learned to let go of the trivial and not stress over it, and I’ve also learned when I need to be up in arms about something. After all these years. I haven’t perfected it, but I’m learning to see the bigger picture in many situations. Me and bro were having this heated discussion and I could feel my heart racing and everything. I sorta knew I wasn’t being true to myself, until he uttered those words.

One mistake people make in relationships is to expect people to respond just as they do and to share their viewpoints exactly. Guess what? That’s an unrealistic expectation and it also doesn’t show respect for other people. We are placed in this world where we are for a purpose. That purpose is not to get everyone around us to agree with everything we believe. If we really want to have the type of influence that we desire, we’re going to have to stop attempting to have the people around us agree with us all the time. When disagreements come up, what we do will speak louder than what we say.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying we shouldn’t attempt to help people become who God intended them to be. That just isn’t going to happen if we burden them with our expectations of who they should be and how they should react. As Romans 12:2 teaches us not to be conformed to the pattern or this world, we must remember also that verse three tells us that we each have been given a measure of faith. That goes with an understanding that each of us has value and have been created uniquely by God for His plans and purposes, not ours. I am also reminded of Romans 14:13-21 and 1 Corinthians 8:9-13 which cautions us against doing anything which might become a stumbling block to our brothers and sisters in the faith.

Don’t let your expectations be a stumbling block and realize God has ordained our steps and delights in us. If He does that for each of us, who am I to disagree?

About lboogieiowa

I am a college student, follower of Christ, lover of *good* music, part-time writer, oldest (or only, depending on who you ask) son, Atlanta sports FANatic....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

