Confessions of a momma’s boy


Mother’s day is upon us and I’m reflecting on my relationship with my mom and everything she has meant, means and will continue to mean to me.

What’s interesting is how I’ve addressed my mom has changed over the years. The evolution is something like this… mommy–> momma–> mom–> ma. This is interesting because my mom and her twin sister called my grandmother “muh” (because when they were younger they couldn’t fully pronounce mother) and that name just held.

As I think of that evolution I realize that my relationship with my mother has changed over the years. From a very young age I recognized myself as a momma’s boy. I was the one hanging on to mom’s apron and always looking out the window when it was time for her to come home.

As I grew older I desired my independence more than my mom’s presence much like many of my peers. But as I entered adolescence I realized my mom didn’t want to let go of her little boy. She wanted to know everything I was into at every second of every day, and I no longer felt the need to share those things with such great detail and depth.

As I prepared to enter adulthood, I could still hear her admonitions ringing in my ears “Watch out for them fast girls”, “Always be a gentleman”, “I’m not raising you to not be able to cook, clean, and take care of yourself”.

When I thought I was old enough to do “everything I thought I was old enough to do” mom’s voice may have been quieter, but it was still there. Even as I sought to do it “my way” the lessons she taught me from a young age guided me in the path of righteousness.

As I ponder the path my life has taken, I think upon the words contained in Proverbs 22:6 “Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he shall not depart from it”. Though I might have wiggled, squirmed and done everything in my power to get away from it, the truth of God’s word has steadied my feet in His path. Though we may not always see eye to eye, this truth is one of the greatest she’s ever taught me. I’m so thankful for everything you’ve done for me in my life mom, but teaching me the truth about Christ is the greatest lesson, I’ve ever learned.

Happy Mother’s Day Ma!!!! I love you!

About lboogieiowa

I am a college student, follower of Christ, lover of *good* music, part-time writer, oldest (or only, depending on who you ask) son, Atlanta sports FANatic....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

