Single and enjoying it…. for now


Lesson #1 about blogging from your phone: Save your work.

Since I inadvertently deleted my first attempt I’m going to go in a slightly different direction this time.

It’s Valentine’s Day and I count myself among the unattached again. I’m not depressed, stressed or in any way upset. To a certain extent this is of my own doing and I’m not bugging. Instead of whining and complaining about what I don’t have I’m going to count the blessings that I do have:

1. A few extra dollars in my pocket (No roses, teddy bears or expensive dinners this year or money paid to a babysitter).

2. A night to catch up on some sleep (much needed)

3……

As I’m writing this, I’ve come to realize it sounds somewhat (quite a bit actually) cynical. Since that’s not my heart or who I am, I’m going to write about what I’m looking forward to.

Sharing the most mundane moments of my life with someone who won’t give the “so what” stare when I share them.

Giving of myself freely to someone with no expectation of reciprocation and having that be genuine.

Learning to receive from someone without feeling the need to reciprocate (Thanks Jeremy!)

Knowing someone so intimately that the slightest change in facial expression speaks a thousand words.

Sharing the day of wedded bliss with friends and family.

Having *our* 6 (yes six!) kids look up to me for the man I am and am still becoming. Btw that number may change after the first 😉

Long walks in the park holding hands.

Long drives across the country to visit family.

Short weekend trips to steal away and enjoy “we” time.

Knowing things at 20 years that I couldn’t have imagined after 6 months.

Loving the fact that after 20 years there’s still more to learn.

Being a model of love and security for the grandbabies.

Growing old TOGETHER.

So in the mean time, I’m enjoying the life I love and live and looking forward to the day I meet…..

Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

About lboogieiowa

I am a college student, follower of Christ, lover of *good* music, part-time writer, oldest (or only, depending on who you ask) son, Atlanta sports FANatic....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

