what’s running through my dome


Okay, since I’m new to blogging, this first post is going to run the gamut and I apologize in advance.

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way:

The Atlanta Falcons are 10-2 and leading the NFC South division with four games to play. This shows Thomas Dimitroff is better at running a real NFL franchise than I am at running three fantasy teams. This also means one year after winning all three of my Yahoo! fantasy leagues (yeah I was THAT guy), I’m probably going to end up in the consolation round in two of the three I’m participating in this year. On to other topics…

As I was watching the SEC Football Championship game on Saturday, I found it hard not to smile watching the shots of Cam Newton on the sideline and taking a bow as he exited the game. There’s just something about people who are excited about what they do. Genuine enthusiasm just can’t be faked and it’s so infectious you’ll find yourself smiling with those who display it, and practicing Romans 12:9-21 (particularly verse 15.)

As an Atlanta Falcons fan for life, I am also rejoicing with one Mr. Michael Dwayne Vick. I’m sure if your were to ask your average man on the street, he’d have an opinion (some would be very strong) about Mike and what he has done (before, during, or after his stint in Leavenworth). As someone who was wowed by what he was and still is able to do on the football field, and appalled by what he was ultimately sent to prison for,  I find myself rooting for his success. My interest in Vick is assuredly tied to his time as quarterback of the Falcons, but I also think something else is coming in to play. That thing is how his public fall from favor not only serves as a cautionary tale for the many professional athletes to-be, and other entertainers, but it also shows that we (Americans) are always rooting for the underdog and willing to welcome back with open arms many the prodigal son. I am thankful that I have been spared from having my indiscretions be the fodder for sports talk radio, blogs, etc., but I am also thankful that the God I serve specializes in reconciliation. I pray the path Mike takes allows him to “keep it on the road” and be an influence for good.

The last topic has to do with taking risks…. something I tend to avoid like the plague. Over the past few weeks and days, I have found numerous opportunities being presented to take some calculated risks and move out of my “comfort zone”. You’re actually reading one of them. I’m not exactly sure what this means other than, the things that people I know expect from me are subject to change. Some of these changes may be MAJOR, and some… not so much. What I’m sure of is that what’s coming out is a result of an inner shakeup (I’m being purposely vague, more to come in subsequent posts). In the mean time, I’ll leave you with a video of the song that’s playing as I’m finishing this post. Shout out to all the MJJ fans worldwide ♥

-L Boogie

About lboogieiowa

I am a college student, follower of Christ, lover of *good* music, part-time writer, oldest (or only, depending on who you ask) son, Atlanta sports FANatic....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

